The Plan So Far

I can’t lie, I’m quite conflicted about this post.  It’s been four months since I started the countdown, I hoped by now I would have a concrete date you can expect to pick up my fiction on Amazon.

Do I have this hard set publication date for you? Well, no.  Does this mean my indie-publishing career is on its way to crash and burn like so many other projects in my past?  Of course not.

Let’s begin with the ball park.  I’m going to reset the countdown for 70 days away.  It’s a little over two months ago and I promise there will be a major announcement at the end of it.

Does this mean I have nothing to offer you loyalist who have been waiting for the end of the countdown? Well if you want hard dates then I apologize, but I can offer an overview of the road so far and my own estimates for how the rest of 2016 will play out.

So, I’ve entirely immersed myself in every bit of information I can find concerning publishing (both indie & traditional).  I have a lot of decisions to make. Some of these decisions were forgone conclusions at one point, but with the advent of broadening my knowledge base I find there are no definitive paths to take on the road to publishing.

I’m all but convinced the hybrid path will be best for me. When publication begins I have so much exciting content to offer, well at least in my opinion.  Which in and of itself has been the largest growth I’ve experienced as a writer over the past few months.  I finally hit a point where I enjoy reading the fiction I produce.  I can’t help but feel it’s a great development if one expects other people to pay money for this work.

Today I hope to conclude the first draft of the fifth Kruger’s novella.  I have one more left afterward to conclude the first season of this story.  So far it has been the best received fiction from my beta readers, and since it’s shorter form fiction than the novels it will be the easiest to afford editing.

So as for my indie-publishing track I anticipate Krugers will be the first project to hit the cyber-shelves over at Amazon.  I’m even considering opening having the first two episodes available – but we’ll see.

It’s still not out of the realm of possibility for Waking Ambrose to be my debut piece of work, it’ll definitely be my first full length novel.  I re-read it this past week while taking a break from Krugers, and I immediately wanted to dive in to write the follow up.  That’s a good sign, right?

The third major project is one I hope will get picked up by a small press, I actually have a specific press in mind.  It’s post-apocalyptic and a zombie story – I can see you eyes rolling already.  I’m not going to go into a lot of detail about it, mostly because it’s still a concept without a lot of definition yet.  We’ll see how it goes.

There’s some more news going on in my life that I simply can’t get into at the moment, but I assure you when all the details are worked out and I’m permitted to speak freely then you will among the first to know.

So there’s another countdown.  What’s the sense to get excited about it, if by the end I just tell you, “Hey things are great! I’ll tell you more later!”  – Well I promise you, that is not the case.

There will definitely be at least one major announcement, I will meet one of these deadlines.

So what can you expect?

#1: More infomation on the “for your consideration” novel.  The one I intend to submit to small press.

#2: A true publication date, not just a vague window.

#3: Hopefully will have enough resolved that I can fill you all in on some big news concerning my future.

In Other News
I am beginning to collect subscribers to my mailing list.  When this goes live over the summer I intend to send at least a monthly letter to anyone who wants to stay informed with my publication journey, get exclusive fiction and content, and other perks.  If you’re interested in getting in on the ground floor than please sign up.
Anyone signing up before I publish will be grouped in a list of early-subscribers and may be privy to other privileges.

Leave a comment