On To The Next One!

It has been approximately thirty seven days since I finished the draft of my first novel.   I have been working on it for about three years give or take and there is still a decent amount of editing and polish left to apply before I call it a finished product.

When I started this whole thing I was so green to the process, I would hear someone say they spent three years writing a novel and think there was absolutely nothing wrong with it.  In fact if you’re strictly in it for the craft and you’re trying to write your magnum opus only intending to publish a single work in your lifetime, then sure go for it.

Just don’t get the idea that you’re the next Harper Lee who can write a single novel and live on its success for a lifetime.  It doesn’t happen that way.  The odds are firmly stacked against you.

If you want to make a living in the trenches putting out genre fiction then three years is a time frame which guarantees writing will remain a hobby forever.  Unless you hit the lottery and your book goes viral you are not going to make a sustainable living.  You are not the next E.L James who will strict it big modifying your fan fic.

Hell even if you are the next E.L James, you still can’t get into this with that attitude.  It’s not feasable.

I am ecstatic to write that as of October 25th, 2015.  Thirty seven days since completing the previous draft of my first novel, so realistically we’re talking abotu thirty four days since I started writing this work – I am finished the first draft.

It’s beyond exciting because not only have I finished the draft with enough time to mentally prepare for NaNoWriMo, but I have six days that I can sink completely into the polish and editing of the first novel – including deciding on a title for it.

November 20th, I will be submitting that first novel for Percy Jane First Novel Award, it needs to be great and having a week long buffer before beginning my NaNoWriMo project is certainly a huge help towards that goal.

If I can keep up this pace I know I’ll be able to hit my deadline.  I should be ready to announce some publication dates by the end of February, with enough of a back log prepared for release that 2016 is going to be a very busy year for me.

As 2015 comes to a close I finally get the feeling that I’m not just running on a treadmill, I’m actually getting some mileage on these plans.  Let’s hope I can keep up the face and by February you’ll know exactly when you can expect my first e-book to show up on Amazon.

Cheers

~Devin
E-Mail: Devinleenl@gmail.com
Twitter: @shallopNewf
Facebook: Coming In February!

Mailing List To Come Soon As Well

Leave a Reply

