Slow & Steady

Well simply looking at the empirical evidence of my ability to keep this blog current, I draw the conclusion Thursday is a far superior day to update consistently.  Of course by saying that I run the risk of starting a trend of Friday updates going forward since I seem to love to self-sabotage my own deadlines.

circa 1890:  Two-headed Janus.  (Photo by Hulton Archive/Getty Images)
circa 1890: Two-headed Janus. (Photo by Hulton Archive/Getty Images)

I presently do not have a lot to talk about at the moment.  I wish I could weigh in on my position on the recent scandal at Memorial University and the professor who refused to wear a device required to teach a hearing impaired student.  She cited religious reasons to explain her refusal yet I still haven’t seen any such mention of a specific religious text to support that claim. Alas I don’t have the time to give it the attention it requires.

My computer essentially gave out a couple of days ago so I lost a full day of writing to technical difficulties.  It’s been rough trying to get back in the habit.  It’s like missing a day at the gym, just worse.

In this past week I have successfully got a few chapters in my next project, the Brandon Lee inspired horror novella – though at this rate it’ll end up being a full length novel I believe.  Originally it was going to by my NaNoWriMo idea but I am uncertain now, I think I may just try something completely different for that, something ridiculous, maybe a paranormal romance?

How about a story with two different incarnations of Vampires… ones that burn in the sun and others that glitter.  There can be a civil war breaking out and maybe I can do a whole cheesy Romeo & Juliet thing with it.  Oh man, I’m going to stop here and brain storm this train wreck.

In other news I got edits back from the third draft of Seth’s novel – still untitled.  It looks like most of the grammatical problems were picked up.  Once I’m done applying these changes I will be making a pass on it myself to see what else I can catch before I format it as a manuscript and get it ready for Percy Janes.

One should at least feign confidence in situations like this but I am far too skeptical about the chances for success.  Looking at how far I’ve come even from the first draft to now I see how much my writing has changed and I completely understand why most authors will say your first few novels at least will be utter garbage.  Barely anyone has published and been successful with the first novel they ever wrote.

I’m looking forward to the feedback from the Judicator, it’ll be my first real feedback from a professional in the field. I will finally get a decent gauge on where I presently stand as a writer.  Wish me luck.

In other news this week has been a little strange for me in that we have finally went public to everyone that my significant other and I are engaged.  Technically it’s something we’ve known for a long time – She has written notification from me from more than a year ago announcing my intention to marry her.  The congratulations have been pouring in though I’m sure a lot on my end will dismiss the legitimacy of the announcement because there is presently no ring involved.

I’ve made a vow that the ring I buy her for to symbolize our love and commitment is going to be bought 100% with money I accumulated through my writing.  Maybe it’s cheesy but to me there’s something to be said about doing the thing I love to most to earn my way to a physical symbol of expressing my feelings for the person I love the most… what do you think?

It makes sense to me, especially considering I don’t think I would have even been able to make it this far along in the pursuit of a literary life if I was with anyone else.

That’s it for now, I’ll try to have something more interesting to say next week.
Cheers

~Devin

Leave a Reply

