The Paper Magician & Finding Perseverance

I actually have a pretty great segway for this entry from the previous one.  If it hasn’t been made abundantly clear by now I am a huge fan of the Writing Excuses podcast.  If you were to take a look at my second draft vs the third draft (that I’m almost finished with), I don’t think you would attribute it to the same writer.  Brandon, Dan, Howard, and Mary have been instrumental in the evolution of my writing. Honestly if I can actually sell this book when I’m done I will be in their debt.

Sometimes it’s a little discouraging to hear that my first novel is going to be basically a learning experience and wont sell to anyone, so they can get a little discouraging when it comes to my ambition of being a successful writer anytime in the next three-five years.

It could very well be an arrogance or it could be just confident that through reading and listening to the pros (like Writing Excuses) I have been able to take their teaching and made myself into a marketable writer… is that the case?  Probably not, but I’m going to damn well try.

So. Anyway.  To the issue at hand.  I’m not really one for giving in depth reviews, at least not at the moment but I needed to highlight this book.

Writing Excuses featured an author who recently sold their first series of novels to Amazon’s publishing imprint.  She is a former student of Brandon Sanderson himself, and was really entertaining to listen to.

Favorite quote, “and I it only took my nine book to get published.”  Referring to Sanderson’s thirteen he wrote prior to his success.

This was enough to make me pick up The Paper Magician on audible.  There were a few more night shifts left before I had a day off and it felt like a great way to kill a shift.

The book is fantastic, even coming from someone who doesn’t usually enjoy this kind of story.  The world really drew me in.  The idea that various man-made materials were able to be manipulated by magicians gave a bit of an Avatar The Last Airbender vibe.  The Paper Magician is a “Folder” who specializes in using paper in various ways.  Rubber, Metal, if it is man made there is a manipulator for it.

I asked if this was influenced by Avatar on Twitter and Charlie herself responded saying it was more of a Howl’s Moving Castle.  I never noticed it early on but I definitely seen it afterwards.  (And if you haven’t seen Howl, go do so now. Miazaki FTW)

I loved the novel, this week I’m going to be picking up the other two in the series and look forward to seeing the growth of her heroine.

I really would love to talk more about it but I refuse to spoil anything. So go now… read The Paper Magician, then message me on Facebook or Twitter and I will certainly gush some more about it.
Buy It On Amazon, Seriously it’s $5 for a kindle copy, there’s no reason NOT to have it.
Or listen to it on Audible

Disclaimer: This is not a paid ad, I get nothing from you purchasing this other than the satisfaction that more people are reading this book.

Alright aside from the commercial.

Charlie’s story gave me a renewed vigor in my writing endeavor.  She didn’t sugar coat it making it sound like it’s easy, or that success will come sooner rather than later but she gave practical insight and grounded perspective.

I’ve listened to that episode of Writing Excuses at least a dozen times in the past two weeks and every time it motivates me to get back at this manuscript.  I’m more than 2/3’s through this rewrite.  I’m about a month or two away from submitting it for the Percy Jane.  I see the like at the end of the tunnel, and it is from stories like this that I find the will to keep going.

I’ve thanked the crew and Charlie on Twitter already but I wanted to say it in a little more than 140 characters.

Thank you again guys for everything you do, and Thank you Charlie for just sharing your story.

“I’ve got a ton of rejection letters and I made a quilt out of them, keeps me warm at night.  Don’t let it get you down.  We[Her and Brandon] both wrote a ton of books before we broke in.  Just keep going, don’t give up but don’t get lazy.” Charlie N Holmberg 

P.S: If you go read the Paper Magician series and want more she has a new book, Followed by Frost up for pre-order.  Coming out Sept 22

Leave a Reply

