Entertainment of the Full Moon – T-Minus 5 Days!

There is a horror snob buried deep within me that would love to tell you that my introduction to horror was one of the big classics like Elm Street or Halloween, alas this is not the case.  I’ve said many a time that accreditation goes to none other then Ernest Scared Stupid.

Ernest Scared Stupid remains to this day as the only movie to ever creep me out long after seeing it.  This movie came on the scene in 1991, though I’m sure it was a couple of years later before I actually got the opportunity to see it.  I would spend months afterwards creeped out every night walking home from hanging out with friends.

Scared Stupid was the first and last movie to have such an effect on me… it’s a feeling I’ve been chasing ever since.

Although this movie holds dear to me in my development as a child of the horror genre, it is not what I envision when I think of my horror origins.  That title is reserved for Full Moon Entertainment(Full Moon Productions/Full Moon Pictures/ they’ve gone through a number of names).

Oh Yeah, this is the company that really brought horror into my life.  Bad Channels, Seedpeople, The Puppet Master series, Dollman, Demonic Toys, I could pretty much name off their entire collection and tie it to some memory of my childhood.

Are they great horror movies?  Um, No.  They were B movies at best back in the day and a lot of their classics are quite dated by today’s standards.   Full Moon productions were the essentially campy, cheesy horror movies that become the basis for how modern media parodies the genre.

It’s entertaining that if you find yourself watching one of these films and another horror fan enters the room, there is a 50/50 chance you’re going to get the heavy sigh and the eye roll… BUT almost all the time the film is going to be recognized.

The effects the company used were actually really well done for it’s time.  Just watching the animation on Puppet Master last night and thinking about what it would have been like in 1989 to see these puppets walking around and being animated really made me remember why I love the genre so much.  I’m really excited to get the retrospective of the Puppet Master franchise up on NoTearsPlease.

The thing about Full Moon is that although they were campy and by today’s standards it can be argued that the effects are really lame (even though I advocate practical effects over CGI whenver possible.)  Full Moon epitomizes what I think of when I remember the horror genre growing up.  There had legitimately creepy and eerie stories combined with a degree of a camp and humor to almost all of their work.  (The Evil Dead 2 formula)

There’s so much I want to say about Full Moon.  Just to speak about the nostalgia I feel when I see that logo at the beginning of a movie can go on forever, but I fear I would just be repeating myself over and over again.

If you are a fan of horror and understand the campy roots this genre has developed from over the years I highly recommend checking out the early works of Full Moon productions.

They have an $80 gift set on their website that has the first generation of the Puppet Master saga (8 movies) that has been calling my name since I first seen it.

The best thing about Full Moon is that they are still at it.  They have new series that I haven’t really sunk my horror teeth into yet like Gingerdeadman and even Evil Bong… (Yes they have a series called Evil Bong, I believe there’s 3 of these).  So I guess this is another project for another day, to get reacquainted with the more recent selections of Full Moon…

The second part of this has got to be used to pay homage to the man behind the Puppet Master series and one of the most underrated men of the genre,  Mr. Charles Band.

Charles Band has sat in the producer chair for 258 films since 1973, of those he has written & directed almost 40 of them.  He is the man behind the moon.  He is the president of Full Moon productions.

Band’s puppet master series kept my interest in horror secured and unwavering through my childhood.  It kept me interested long enough for me to finally experience the joy of the Elm Streets and Crystal Lakes.  So really if not for Charles Band, I would NOT be the horror fanatic that I am today.  Without Charles Band I could’ve ended up being a die hard comedy fan, who knows maybe I would’ve enjoyed things like the Jersey Shore, or *shutters* Glee.

No.. I don’t want to think about it.  I grew up horror, and I will die horror.

Mr. Bands work can even take credit for my early appreciation for Halloween.  As a kid I loved Halloween for candy and costumes, but as a teen I loved the fact that every channel airs its scariest programming in October.  Monster movie marathons, horror themed TV shows, I just soaked it all in.

At a remarkably young age Halloween overtook Christmas as my favorite time of the year, and that’s really saying something when you consider how much I really love the Christmas season.  Thanks in no small part to my growing respect for horror.

Charles Band is a name that should be known and remembered.  If you consider yourself a horror fan and do NOT know this guy then you need to remedy that or remove that title from your name.

Mr. Band, I tip my hat to you and thank you for your many years of service.

Leave a Reply

