– Cancer Can Be Defeated (150th Post) –

When I saw my 150th post was coming up I was not sure exactly how I would do it.  Maybe a top ten list since they seem to be pretty popular online, or even a radio podcast or video.

150 posts is about 145 more than I expected to reach when I first started. I had no idea how influential this website was going to be in the documentation and even shaping of who I am today.

All the special plans I made for this post essentially went out the window the other day when a special blogger liked one of my posts.  I mentioned whenever a new person likes one of my entries I will take the time to check them out.  The moment I read through an entry or two on her website I knew that I would spend my 150th post highlighting this woman.

I’m sure that you are all sick of hearing ShallopNewf talk about how much I misses Elaine Mahon and how special she was to me.  “If I Saw You In Heaven” still stands today as being the hardest piece of writing I’ve ever had to endure, while still being the one that is dearest to my heart.

If I Saw You In Heaven
Day One – After The Funeral 

From losing Elaine a part of me has been ripped from its mortal coil and I have grown very cynical when it comes to Cancer.  I see it as a death sentence… that a girl so full of life and a fighter to the end could finally succumb to the condition… I feel there’s no hope. 

The blogger Oneanna65, is a blogger that exhibits the same lust for life that I saw in Elaine.  Her blog is actually called “CancerKillingRecipe.” For the first time since last May I am finally beginning to feel some inkling of hope that Human Will can overcome, and it is thanks to this blogger.

She’s a 65 year old cancer combatant.  She writes about her life and with each word I find a little more strength to get through the day.  Elaine was taken from us at the age of 24.  Long before her time, but she fought valiantly.

There’s so much of Elaine’s attitude evident in oneanna65’s writing that it makes me feel like Elaine is still here.

“And as long as I can inspire someone, somewhere, and as long as You are going to “click” and “like”, I’m going to keep Blogging. And Blogging keeps me so busy, that to tell You the truth, I don’t have the time to die of cancer. You see, I have nothing against dying. We all have to die some day….. It is just that I don’t want to die of cancer. And I won’t!” – Oneanna65

I can almost hear Elaine’s voice saying this as I read it.

I’m sure OneAnna65 doesn’t need my help to be recognized, I believe there’s been numerous accolades given to her for her website. I just wanted to speak up because I’ve felt a large burden released from my shoulders just by getting lost in her words.

For my 150th Post I want to proclaim my support and admiration for Oneanna65, and more importantly I would like to Thank her.  Not only are you an inspiration but your will is contagious, with more people like you this in the world I honestly don’t think Cancer has a chance.

The real cure isn’t in a test tube, it’s in the human will to survive.

Check out OneAnna65’s Blog.
http://cancerkillingrecipe.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “– Cancer Can Be Defeated (150th Post) –

Leave a Reply

