– Intermission –

I finally figured it out.  The legit reason behind my absolute inability to put meaningful words to the screen.  I am between seasons, and have been stuck that way for a long time.

Similar to how characters must feel when there is a large time spent between seasons, I feel like I’m still on autopilot.  The real oddity to this is that I think the last few months has brought about more change than in any of the previous seasons that I’ve noticed.

New apartment, new friends, new job, new routine, reintroduction of some old friends, new significant other… Almost every aspect of my life has changed and yet I feel like the season finale took place a few months ago and things have been going through the motions ever since.

Wait, lost?  Oh I guess I should explain the ideal of Seasons eh?

It’s how I look at the passage of time and the events that shape our lives.  It’s a television reference, (which in itself could lead its way into a very intricate social commentary about the affect of television on the minds of the youth in the early to mid 90’s)  it speaks to how you can really look at your life and all the various changes that occur.

Anyway, I already made a post describing it so if you’re very curious you can go check that out first. https://rantzz.wordpress.com/2010/07/22/the-seasons-of-life/

Anyway it literally just dawned on me that I’ve been between seasons for so long that I think this is the real culprit  for my lack of motivation lately.  It’s like I’m waiting for the next big event to hit me and change my life before I can start being me again.

This oddly hit me when I was catching up on “Young Justice” last night.  There’s a 5 year gap between the first and second season and I thought to myself for a second about how the characters continued to exist outside of the realm of the animation and what they really did for 5 years.

I see it now that this has been a long break between seasons, the longest I’ve felt so far.  It’s going to be one of those off-seasons that changes the show so much that when the next season begins there are already a great deal of changes.  Hell, at this rate of change this might even feel like a full blown spin off…  hmmm, never considered how that kind’ve concept would fit into my little ideal.

Honestly I am a little intrigued now thinking about what exactly is going to snap me back and begin the next season.  Maybe this realization is what I needed to initiate that change myself eh?

5 thoughts on “– Intermission –

  1. You don’t need to wait for the next big event to hit you in the face. My challenge to you is to do one thing completely outside of the realm of your “normal” behaviour. Write about it in a journal called “new shit I never thought I would do”. It works miracles, and I’d be happy to help you get started. I’ve been there and it’s frustrating getting out of that rut.

    1. In the context of the seasons that I described, I think just the realization that it’s been so long since a new one started has been a pretty significant catalyst in itself. Even in writing that entry I started gettin kind’ve invigorated. 😛

      That being said…Thank you Mr. Banko, and I believe you are right sir. So yeah I would accept any assistance you can offer on that front.

  2. I saw your comment on a FreshPressed blog last night, but when I clicked the link, I got an empty site that said,”You’re obviously looking for something that’s not here.” It took Ted, over at SightsnBytes, to direct traffic for me. Nice blog! I’m sure I’ll be back.

Leave a Reply

