New look for a new year

There are only very few certainties in life, one of which is that it is ever-changing.  My life is about to take a dramatic shift from the comfortable.  I’ve been living home now on the west coast of Newfoundland for over 3 years now and I got myself set in a comfortable little routine.

I’m a 26-year-old journalism graduate, I decided that it is about time that I move on and try to step up a career in my chosen profession.  There is only so many times I can answer the phones for AT&T before I realize that I’m wasting precious time on the status quo.

I’ve got a very good lead on what could very well be an employment opportunity in the province’s capital but even if that was to fizzle I realize that I have done all that I could in Stephenville.  We had a website that was starting to gain momentum but unfortunately due to a number of factors all coming together at once, the site has been left to expire and not be renewed.  Scratching The Surface is a potential business venture in the near future but the best way to help someone get started in their career is to actually be a well established name yourself.

When I’m at a point in my life where I have dedicated readers and when my opinion actually holds sway in this professional world, I may very well try it again  but in order to move on with my life I’m going to need to take a step back.  This is actually the rationale behind the new title for this website.

The World Is Broken was a great home for me and I’ll always appreciate the emotion it allowed me to vent and the therapeutic outlet it became when I needed to rant.  I plan and getting this site back to what it once was.  There is going to be a mix of blog style opinion pieces but I’m also going to occasionally try to through in some actual hard & soft news stories as well.  I realize this is the best way to keep the skills I learned at College of the North Atlantic sharp.

Of course with a new attitude, a fresh ambition, I needed a new name for the site.  At its heart this is still going to be “The World Is Broken”  but I decided I’m going for a bit more of an uplifting title.  I settled on “Dum Spiro Spero.”  I am not too familiar with the language and this could be a terrible misuse of the phrase but from what I can gather the phrase translates as “While I Breathe, I Hope”

This is exactly the mentality I am going to need when I make my return to the capital.  I have so many obstacles to deal with and so many situations that will hinder my progression.  #1 of which is my lack of confidence in my actual ability.  I learned in school that I have a pretty good knack for video editing and clip production but without all the equipment at my disposal I don’t know how well I will do, especially when I don’t know if I have any access to my old clips.

#2 is that I am finally going to have to start dealing with the passing of Elaine.  It’s been creeping on me a lot more lately, especially as we approach move day,  I want to sort this out so that I can finally be who I’m supposed to be.

Anyway there is a lot more posts on the way,  thanks for those of you that continue to read.  If you got any comments or suggestions feel free to comment or e-mail  ShallopNewf@SurfaceScratchers.com

Leave a Reply

