– A Return To The Grindstone –

Eric Hoffer said it best, “The only way to predict the future is to have power to shape the future.

This summer has been an eventful one to say the least.  The journalism program was finished.  I left the program with lots of start-up ideas and aspirations that were going to realized over the summer.  Scratching The Surface was going to continue covering the entire west coast of Newfoundland.  Harnum and Augot were going to take up residence at 99 Montana, and we were going to make a real go of it.

Set backs began right out of the gate.  May 1st, the day that both Harnum and Augot were going to officially move in we get word from Harnum that he has decided he’s not on board anymore.  To each their own, but I would be lying if I tried to say there wasn’t any resentment targeting him when the news came in… really this isn’t something that we could not have been informed of at an earlier date??

A last minute roommate acquisition allowed STS to continue covering shows.  Unfortunately it was not a paying gig, Augot was soon forced to concede and return back to her hometown leaving the sole responsibility of the site up to me.

Unfortunately May 31st saw the final nail in the coffin… literally.  The death of Elaine Mahon basically saw the death of Scratching The Surface for the summer.  It completely put me out of commission.  Not only was STS left to stagnate, but all my ambition was purged from my system.  It felt like I would just stay put and live a very mediocre life here in Stephenville

Journalism can teach you everything you need to know about being a journalist, but it can’t prepare you for life itself.  Life can be your biggest obstacle.

October 17, 2011. ShallopNewf is going to turn 26.  There’s no more time to waste, I’ve already got some ventures in the works and there are a few prospects that may bear fruit in the near future.  Until then, I’m going to return to simply doing the best I can with what I got…  right now, what I got is a Call Center job, The World Is Broken blog, and Scratching The Surface (Returning October 31st).

It’s time to dust off the old Canon and Vivitar and get back at this.  Wish me luck.

One thought on “– A Return To The Grindstone –

Leave a Reply

