– True Knowledge –

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing. – Socrates

It’s almost 4am right now and I cannot sleep.  I just turned on “Dead Set”  and I’m watching the third episode as I write this.  There are 5 in total.  The series seems to be okay, we’ll see how it ends.  In light of this evenings events and just a general reflection on what has been going on lately in my life I have been thinking a lot about a quote from Socrates that I had a discussion with before with a friend of mine.

I’ve been burdening myself with far too much lately, including a number of things that are not really my burden to bear.  I’ve also been racking my brain a lot lately trying desperately to figure things out.  It is now at 4am that it has dawned on me.  Just like everyone else on this planet, I really truly know nothing.  I can’t beat myself up because I can’t find the answers I was looking for.  I just need to take comfort in what I do understand and deal with the parts of my life that I can indeed control.

Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t a grand epiphany that is making me feel all warm and gooey inside… I still feel like an empty vessel, but I think I am starting to get some direction at least.  Ground up.

Actually, I think I’m going to put in a new entry, one more up to the format of my summer work.
By the time anyone sees this I’m sure that entry will be up, So umm.. enjoy, I guess.

 

 

Leave a Reply

