– State Of Affairs: Changes –

I’ve been looking around a lot lately.  There has been a lot of changes that have occurred this season.  A lot of new characters… some have left the show.  Playing guitar has begun to feel like a chore to me, even when doing it just with a couple of friends around, Friendships have ended, relationships have begun.  Not just in my life, I mean in the lives of everyone around me that I have been able to observe.  So many changes.  But that’s life isn’t it?  Life is all about change.

Heraclitus was the philosopher that stated “you can’t step into the same river twice.”  I’ve been looking at a few of the things he’s said in his lifetime and came across one that inspired my entry

“Nothing endures but Change”

It’s true.  The only thing that truly stays constant in our lives is the fact that things change.  It doesn’t matter how enduring something may seem, change is inevitable.  I think I started losing touch with my own self when I lost touch of this realization.

The friends you have right now are your friends, that doesn’t need to change.  But your day-to-day life will.  With an absence of Johnny Pardy while he was home over the summer, Jeff Vineham climbed the ranks quickly and became as good a friend to me as Johnny is.  It was awesome, someone basically the same age as me (give or take exactly two weeks hah), thought similar to me, and even had a lot of my same experiences.  I trusted him with anything and everything that was going through my mind… Regrettably, It would be a bold face lie for me to sit here at my computer and type that we are as good of friends right now as we were back then… in fact last conversation we had didn’t go very well at all, kinda got hurt, and kinda over-reacted… but that’s in the past…  That being said.  The dynamic has changed… it’s become more rare for him to venture to Stephenville, we don’t really get much of a chance to talk anymore… I still consider him to be a good friend despite how our last conversation went, and I’m sure eventually I’ll hear from him again…  but see?  This is all an example of change.  The circumstances and situations change, it’s a part of life.  Drifting away from people is natural.

Hell let’s look at my track record… In three years I can actually look back and specifically point at least 5 different clique of friends that I was with consistently.  Right now I’m into yet another… Johnny and Adam mostly.  But I mean Kelsey has been added to the mix since the summer but since I moved to town we’re able to hang out more often.  Well Stacey is obviously next door so that is a factor…

Change is not always interpersonal.  I’ve noticed that I am not the same person that I once was… in previous posts I wrote about my confusion at this realization, but now I’m beginning to embrace it.  I would be lying if I said anything other than “I feel like a monster” (To quote the Skillet tune above)… I’m not overly thrilled with the person I have become and hopefully I’ll be able to isolate the traits I don’t want and remove them, but that’s just more changes that hopefully will be made.

The statement that I’m trying to make is that Change is absolute.

Nothing in the world is permanent, and we’re foolish when we ask anything to last, but surely we’re still more foolish not to take delight in it while we have it”. This is from the 1943 novel “The Razor’s Edge” – W. Somerset Maugham.  It is the truest form of the statement I am trying to make.

I once wrote an entry encouraging everyone to take control of their own lives.  I’m not sure if it was in this blog of not.  But, I have somewhat overlooked the concept of enjoying the good while it lasts.  If you are with someone, I don’t care about how long you see it lasting don’t be plaguing yourself with thoughts of how things will end badly or what possibly can happen in the future… listen if it has to end then it’ll end, enjoy it now while you still have it.

You’re so scared about growing old and not going to be able to get out and do what you want to do anymore, you’re so fearful of your body giving out on you that you obsess… day in and day out, all you do is think, “good nutrition” “good exercise” “lots of rest”…. You end up spending your entire life trying to make sure your body is in tip-top shape, but your fear has consumed you and you spend most of your life trying to keep your body in shape that you refuse to go out and enjoy the life you have.  There’s nothing wrong with having that burger with the guys every now and then… or going to the pub for a few beers.  It doesn’t have to Always be about fitness.

… before I go any further I want to explain this.  I’m well aware that this is almost a complete opposite of what happens these days.  Most people are obese (I’m no exception) and refuse to exercise, this example is through in because it’s somewhat unusual so I’m hoping it’ll catch someones eye and maybe my point will come across.

In the case of me and Jeff… friends that you spend all your time with.  Every fun night out is with them, and those nights are epic.  But, when they are done and you drift apart, there’s no sense in being upset or miserable about it… just look back and enjoy the memories.

There’s so much to life, and most of it is change.  It is those changes that force us to make key decisions that shape our lives.  In 12th grade, a change came in my life… high school was done and I had to decide on the next step.  I chose Grenfell in error and ended up making a 3 year mistake… that’s life.. that was my reaction to a change that was happening.   We all need to understand and embrace that things change.  It’s your decisions that shape you are, and who you are going to be.

If change really is the essence of life… then the decisions we make is our navigator.

This goes back to an old quote that I’m sure I’ve used to death already, but seems a fitting way to end this entry…
(Oddly enough, after quoting a pre-socratic philosopher, and a mid-40’s acclaimed author… I will end this on a quote by Theodor Seuss Geisel .  a.k.a  Dr. Seuss.   Strange eh?)
When it comes to any change in your life just remember,

“Don’t cry because it’s over… Smile because it happened.’

 

Leave a Reply

