– Purpose & Meaning –

Does there always have to be a meaning behind something?  A reason for doing what you’re doing?  A purpose for the actions that you take?  I take the stance of, “No, not really.”  But there was an interesting discussion that took place earlier that got me pondering this… hence here I go on another rant.


The discussion was provoked by Mr. Joe May while I was trying to aid someone in making their own wordpress site.  It essential was a mini-rant about how blogs are annoying and pointless.  There isn’t very many well respected bloggers that he would considering reading.  To this end I do agree.  Bloggers are NOT journalist.  I’m going to school for Journalism right now, and I blog, that does NOT make me a journalist in any way shape or form.  I do not need to source material, or worry about direct quotes because literally I used this website as a tool for ranting and venting when I have something on my mind.  Using his words I just want to “run my mouth” which is indeed what a lot of bloggers do.

I agree with him whole-heartedly that Blogging is rather pointless.  But, here’s where we differ.  I don’t see a problem with something being pointless.  This brings me to my rant at the moment.  Why is it that everything a person does, or says must require a meaning? 

This blog has somewhat of a purpose to me, I don’t feel like I can 100% rant to anyone with complete trust, so I just vent online in a general fashion to help keep my sanity.  Instead of worrying about whether or not what I say will get out amongst everyone I know, I’ll just write it here so that I know every inquiring mind has the ability to see what I am saying.

But, do I really need to justify having this blog?  I don’t need to have a political agenda, or need to promote something, or have to report on the happenings of popular culture to own a blog.  That’s the beautiful thing, I do not need a reason whatsoever to do what I’m doing.  This blog IS absolutely pointless and serves to meaning whatsoever, and yet I keep doing it.  And You guys apparently keep reading. Haha yesterday had more then 40 views.  Now either one person REALLY likes what I”m writing, or there are a handful of people actually interested in what I have to say.

But, I really don’t have much to contribute.  I go through life, and I learn things, I observe things, and when my mind is provoked by a thought I type it out here.  This is basically Intellectual diarrhea (I know I used this term before).  I just spill whats on my mind at the time.  This entry, essentially was brought on my Maywest’s opinion on the validity of Blogs.

The man has a solid opinion, to which I mostly agree.  The difference is, I frankly don’t care how “pointless” and “stupid” blogging is, It’s a nice outlet for thoughts and kills time to read. 

If I want to write here and say that, I think that 3 Days Grace was an okay show at Salmon Festival, but it didn’t blow me away.  Who has the right to question why I decided to say that.  This is a free website, and this little box allows me to type whatever I want… I don’t need a reason.  I can just mash the buttons if I want, sdfhajklgahkjash;fafj… I could even make a whole entry like that.  I don’t need a purpose.

This extends to beyond blogging.  For instance, you see someone sitting at a park bench just staring straight up into the sky.  Nothing up there, he’s just staring.  Maybe he’s doing it because he’s tired.. or he’s bored.. or maybe he just randomly got the urge to look into the sky.  There’s no purpose or meaning to this. 

Right now, lunch is coming up.  I don’t know what I’m going to do, I have no plan.  I texted Stacey to see what she’s doing because she got mad last time I offered KFC and she couldn’t go, so I’ll just keep offering until I make up for that, but she’s watching a movie with Dill,  I could just stay and work since I need to make up a full day of hours and so far only done 1.  I could see what minal is up to.   None of these actions have any prior meaning or purpose then just idleness.  I’m not sure what I”m going to do yet, and I”m not really going to think about it.  Come 12, I’ll just do whatever pops in my head.. lol

Anyway, I know this entry may be a bit vague, and some people will not even see the point I’m trying to make.  But, once again, this is my blog and I have a right to be as confusing as I want and whether you like it or not I don’t need to do anything about it. ha ha

The Jist – Sometimes we can do things for no other reason than just to do them.  There does not need to be some pre-conceived plan or reasoning behind it.  Random behaviour is the funnest kind.

3 thoughts on “– Purpose & Meaning –

  1. I knew you would have something to say after your brief exit.
    Unfortunetly for me, I listend to it for another 45 mins… not saying I wanted to. But it would of been rude of me to close my ears.

    So the question being raised about “having a purpose” Not everything has a purpose, but that don’t mean you can’t do what you want.

    Great example, looking at the sky as you mentioned.
    Personally, I do it all the time. Weather it’s looking at the clouds, or imagining soaring high above the world, or even just thinking about life.

    My conclusion in this comment?

    I’m just glad someone agree’s with my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

